jump to navigation

Male Versus Female Shoppers December 8, 2009

Posted by Emily Lin in Why We Buy.
trackback

The most interesting section of the book “Why We Buy” is the insights of male versus female shoppers. I can’t stop laughing upon reading the wisdom such as “male shoppers only buy suits and shoes, while female shoppers buy everything else.” For a long time I’ve been wondering why I’d rather go shopping by myself than dragging my boyfriend with me, and why my mom always shops for the whole house while my dad, who almost never shops for himself, gets excited about going to shop for certain groceries for us. Now I understand the reasons.

“Males just want places that allow them to find what they need with a minimum of looking and then get out fast.” In one study of buying apparels, 65 percent of male shoppers who tried something on actually bought it (as opposed to only 25 percent of female shoppers did), and the only reason why they didn’t end up buying it was the size. Speaking of size, most male shoppers don’t know what sizes of underwear they are in, let alone their partner’s sizes. To assist male shoppers, retails stores should put super simple size charts, closer fitting rooms, and super friendly / approachable / spontaneous sales clerks. In fact, male shoppers are much less price sensitive. Dads are bad in saying no to their kids while shopping, because one of the roles of Daddy is the provider. Male shoppers usually enjoy the thrill of paying for women or children, even if they hate the experience of shopping.

Women take pride in shopping intelligently, efficiently and effectively. As a typical female shopper, I totally agree with the insight to female shoppers: “…shopping is a transforming experience, a method of becoming a newer, perhaps even slightly improved person.” Shopping was the first legitimate reason to get women out of the house and meet publicly with other people. Shopping is still a social vehicle for women, and we enjoy shopping with gals and giving each other advices. To attract female shoppers, the total experience should be much more detailed cared, with an emphasis on trial, education, and “bring-a-friend-get-discount”.

After reading this book, I found myself starting to observe retail spaces and shopper behaviors. I could spot numerous improvement opportunities for a single store such as not enough mirrors, no trial samples, or non-flattering fitting rooms. I also liberated my boyfriend from going to H&M with me, and let him browse his Best Buy or Game Stop.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

